Wardens, Vestry and Officers

The Senior Warden: Nora Howell

The Senior Warden is elected by the parish membership and is the “chief lay officer” of St. Mark’s. The Senior Warden works in partnership with the Rector to give overall leadership to the parish.

The Junior Warden: Kenn Allen

The Junior Warden is elected by the parish membership and is responsible for management and upkeep of our buildings and grounds. The Junior Warden is assisted by other parishioners—including the Manciple, the Fabric Committee, and the Garden Committee—and St. Mark’s maintenance contractor.

The Vestry

The Vestry is the governing board of the parish. It meets monthly and is presided over by the Rector. Voting members include the Senior and Junior Wardens and nine Members of the Vestry elected by the parish membership. Parish officers participate actively in the work of the Vestry but do not vote. Members of the Vestry also serve as liaisons to the Pillars and various priority committees and activities, as needed. Minutes of all Vestry meetings are posted on the website and can be found here.

Current Vestry Members

Class of 2019: Stephanie Deutsch, Thia Hamilton, Beth Mahood
Class of 2020: Jim Brooks, Tracy Councill, Alix Pereira
Class of 2021: Christina Herman, Brandon Dunn Knight, Amber Macdonald


Register: Mary Cooper
Treasurer: Martha Huizenga
Assistant Treasurer:  John Edwards
Manciple: Michael Knipe
Legal Counsel: Rosemary Harold
Risk Manager: George Meng

Participation in the Episcopal Diocese of Washington

St. Mark’s is a part of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington and the Episcopal Church of the United States. St. Mark’s sends three delegates to the annual diocesan convention, and members of the parish serve in a variety of other roles in the diocese.

Parish Delegates to Diocesan Convention: Cecilia Monahan, Jim Steed, Peter Nye
Member of Diocesan Council: Maureen Shea
Member of the Diocesan Finance Committee: Kenn Allen
Members of the Strategic Financial Resource Commission: Michele Morgan and Kenn Allen (co-chairs)

Standing Committees and Teams


Personnel Liaison: Brandon Dunn Knight
Advisory Committees offer support for our clergy, program staff, and wardens.
Convener: Betsy Athey

Elders are former wardens and co-directors of Christian Education. They meet at the call of the Rector and/or Senior Warden to offer counsel on the life and labors of the parish.
Co-conveners: Betsy Athey, Bruce Sherman

The Membership Committee is charged with providing a welcoming spirit in our community so that current and new members, newcomers, and visitors experience radical hospitality.
Convener and Treasurer: Peter Sherer
Vestry Liaisons: Stephanie Deutsch, Amber Macdonald, Alix Pereira

The Communications Working Group provides technical and editorial services for the St. Mark’s website, publications, and displays.
Convener:  Thia Hamilton


The Endowment Board manages monies given to the church by parishioners for specific purposes.
Co-Chairs: Kathryn Powers, Cecilia Monahan

The Finance Committee drafts the parish budget; monitors income and expenditures through the year; conducts a financial needs analysis in coordination with clergy, staff, and parish leaders; and makes recommendations to the vestry on financial matters.
Chair: Martha Huizenga; Assistant: John Edwards
Vestry Liaisons: Nora Howell, Kenn Allen, Beth Mahood

The Money Counters are approved by the Vestry to count and deposit the Sunday collections.
Chair: Susan Sedgewick


Chartered by the Vestry, the Stewardship Committee provides strategic coordination and planning for our parish’s various stewardship priorities, including annual giving/canvass, Legacy Lions planned giving, capital campaigns, major gifts, the endowment, and membership development.
Chair: Rob Hall
Vestry Liaisons: Nora Howell, Kenn Allen, Tracy Councill

The annual Canvass is run by parish leadership. For 2018, the team so far is the Rev. Michele Morgan, Jen Dalzell, Nora Howell, and Alix Pereira.


The Fabric Committee assists the Junior Warden with his/her work managing the parish buildings and grounds.
Chair: Kenn Allen
Manciple: Michael Knipe

We have two Columbaria: One is located in the chancel (by the high altar) and the other in the Chapel of the Nazarene (to the right of the high altar). The Columbarium in the chapel has space available.
Coordinators: Penny Hansen (chapel), Doris Burton (chancel)

Parish Programs


Director of Music: Jeff Kempskie

Chancel Choir Director: Jeff Kempskie
Boys and Girls Choir Director: Libbi Nixon
Handbell Choir Co-Directors: Sarah Headley, Katherine Anderson

Youth & Family Ministries

Director of Youth & Family Ministries: Caroline McReynolds-Adams

Vestry Liaison: Beth Mahood
Outreach Liaison: Linda Staheli
Sunday School Liaisons: Paul Albergo, Kris Humphrey
Parish Life Liaison: Erika Lehman
Family Events Liaison: Ruth Roman
Youth Events Liaison: Leslie Allen
Nursery Coordinator & Manager: Deborah Cunningham